Let’s see how many people I can offend with this blog in 3…2…1

So, I’m not really going set out and actually TRY to offend everyone.  Why?  Unlike some people, I don’t set out to intentionally say things that would attack someone’s feelings, beliefs, concerns or otherwise.  I don’t intentionally post things on social media to get people riled up.  I embrace who I am and I stand by words that I say.  I don’t always say the right words to convey what I am feeling and I completely lack that filter that allows me to think before I speak.  But, what you get will be the truth.  Some call it, “brutal honesty”.  I call it, “I respect you enough to be myself around you and not sugar coat things”.

So, I have some things that I want to get off my chest and if they offend you, well…

1.  Breastfeeding in public.   If you don’t care about the maternal and legal rights of a mother to feed her child, then let’s think on this another way:  Would you rather that hungry baby be screaming uncontrollably just to appease your sensitive eyesight? My kids’ first exposure to breast feeding was my friend, Rebecca and her son in Japan.  It didn’t “warp” them.  It didn’t taint their childlike innocence.  You know what they do or say when they see a mother breastfeeding her baby now?  NOTHING.  Which is exactly what everyone else should be doing.  Mind your own business.  Done.

2.  The Confederate flag.  For fuck’s sake.  STOP.  It is a F-L-A-G.  It is not a symbol of hate.  It’s not a display of hate.  What it is, is the ignorance of SOME people that hide behind the [history] of the Confederate flag and some weird, sense of entitlement of times long, LONG past.  I am from Mississippi.  My grandfather was in the KKK.  I don’t say that with pride.  I say that because I can assure everyone that the Confederate flag played no role in his hate and ignorance.  Done.

3.  “Sunday Christians”.  This shit is older than I am.  It’s a disgusting display of the worst kind of hypocrisy.  Please don’t think that I fail to notice when social media is the first place that you run to post about your beliefs, your urgency to receive the [Lord] into your life and your Sunday worship service but, not another word of your [faith] at any other time during the week.  I respect everyone’s beliefs.  I love my friends and how they feel comfortable enough to say, “I’ll pray for you” even though they know that I don’t believe in [God] or organized religion.  Done.

4.  How you raise your children.  This is a very simple one.  As long as you aren’t keeping them in a dog crate in the basement, slapping them around and mentally fucking them for the rest of their lives… #notmykid #notmyproblem.  Done.

5.  Immunizations.  Oh. My. Gosh.  Stand down you crazy fuckers.  On BOTH sides of the vaccine debate.  I vaccinate my kids.  Why?  Because it is what is recommended by my trusted pediatrician.  It doesn’t mean that I am ignorant to the risks of any foreign substance that is injected into my child.  It simply means that I have made the best choice for MY children.  As I am sure that the non-vaccine crowd has done also.  Done.

6.  Abortion.  Ah, yes.  The debate of the century.  I honestly don’t even know where to start on this one.  Actually, it’s pretty simple.  MY body, MY life, MY choice.  YOUR body, YOUR life, YOUR choice.  People are so quick to jump on the Pro-Life movement but, many fail to consider all the circumstances where abortion is sought out in the first place.  Done.

7.  Women’s rights, women’s equality vs.  The Man.  I still believe in traditional male and female roles in the home.  I like having my husband take the trash out.  I like the fact that he “brings home the bacon” so that I was afforded the luxury of staying home with my son for the first two years of his life.  I don’t support the oppression of women.  I want women to feel empowered and stand up for their fair treatment in the workplace and society.  But, I enjoy my husband being “the man” in our family.

There.  I could go on but, I have kids to lock in dog crates and flags to raise.  😉

Leave a Reply

